The Beginning

I met the man of my dreams when I wasn’t expecting it. That’s how it always goes. There I was finishing up Master’s Degree in Library Science when I met him. He was studying abroad, very German, and so completely stand-offish that I didn’t know what to make of him. It wasn’t till a month or two later that I actually spoke to him. He was nice, not overly so, but interesting. Thus began our friendship. We chatted, we met up once in a while, and I even made him dinner, which being a chef, is a really big deal—- for him! One night I wanted to go for a long walk in the rain which you can do in a hot climate where we were living. It was maybe 3 in the morning and I just couldn’t go to sleep. I’m very prone to taking long walks by myself, and there he was saying he would come along. I was hesitant but I allowed it since he seemed so determined.

And I fell in love in the matter of three hours. We hid under a roof when it began to pour, we talked about music and life and everything we could talk about. The sun was coming up while we got back to our dorm. And that was the end of the world as I knew it. It’s been two years; so many adventures and stories later, we are finally in a relationship. I feel like I’ve won the lottery. He, being German, would never say the same, but he totally adores me from my curly hair to my bright red toenails. And of course, he tells me he loves me all the time which helps.

I live in the big city. He has stayed with me for two months and we hoped he could find a job here, but no dice. Instead he found a job in Nuremberg or Nürnberg, and well, now I’ve got to go there. A job that is as daunting as it is adventurous I daresay.

The one good thing I’m doing already is taking German classes. I’m not perfect but I’m getting the basics down. With a lot of practice and work, I can do it! In two weeks I have an appointment with the German Consulate. Next month I will begin shipping some things there. It’s all really happening and I need advice!! So I hope anyone who has done or is doing the same thing helps me out, leaves me comments of advice. Believe me, I need it and I know it’s only the beginning.
5 thoughts on “The Beginning

  1. This makes me so unbelievably excited for you! I think you’re doing everything you can to prepare for living abroad, and once over there you’ll be able to pick up the language quickly since you are learning the basics now.

    I think I speak for everyone when I say keep us updated 🙂

  2. I totally agree with Jen. You are preparing and you will learn more once you’re there. I’m sure your boyfriend will help you too! I’m so jealous! 🙂 Moving to a foreign country, with the man of your dreams, a true adventure! I can’t help but think “My Life in France”…you’re going to be like Julia Child! 🙂 Well, but in your own way, you know what I mean. I am super excited for you and can’t wait to read your next post! Good luck! 🙂

  3. Im SOOO super excited for you lady pants!!! and you are gonna have an AMAZING time in german land!!

  4. Welcome to the expat adventure. Germany is an amazing place. It is good that you are headed to a city the size of Nuremberg. It will make making friends easier as you’ll have a wider group without so much the small-town antipathy towards outsiders. More German class possibilities as well.
    All the best on your adventure.

  5. Hello! Thank you so much for creating this blog! I too met the (German) man of my dreams and will be moving to Erlangen in July! Can you offer any advice or tips for my move? I feel as though I have been pulling my hair out trying to move, pack, finish up my internship for grad school and work….

Leave a Reply

