German Food

When in pastry school, you take two rather intense bread courses. In those classes I learned to make some German breads and desserts. That is the extent of which I know German food. I mean I know the basics; sausages, beer, spaetzle, schnitzel…..

I’m kind of lost about the whole thing- I have this impression that German food doesn’t really incorporate a lot of color- am I right to think this? I’m a lover of colorful food, different textures and flavors, so my expat friends, can you please tell me your opinions of German food? I’m dying to know!

4 thoughts on “German Food

  1. Can I tell you what I think about German food too? I do not claim to know anything, but I have my opinions. I love it. There are quite a few good, traditional German restaurants in Milwaukee. I would say in general, you are correct there isn’t much color. One restaurant, however, julienned colorful vegetables, quickly sauteed and arranged beautifully on the plate. Now, is that authentic? I don’t know, but it was tasty and pretty. Most things, from my experience, are brown, white, or tan. Not visually appealing, but very tasty. The flavors are definately there for most things though. Sauerkraut…well…I don’t care for it, but a lot of people do love it! 🙂 It will be a great adventure and you can introduce new things into their world! Good luck!

  2. I’m biased because I only really learned to cook here in Germany, but I love German food. German cooks seem really celebratory when it comes to seasonal produce. When the asparagus comes in, LOOK OUT. It’s everywhere and announced loudly. Lamb is only widely available around Easter. Then the fresh berries and plums come in and are a huge deal as well. And then come the brussels sprouts and the kale. The stores mostly seem to stock according to season and once fresh items are gone, they are gone until next year. So home cooking can be anything you want it to be, depending on what’s in season.

    In restaurants, if you go to a super-traditional place (particularly Bavarian places), you might not see much color. But other types of German restaurants – often called neu Deutsch – offer more colorful, innovative dishes. And you’ll learn ways to get your hands on other ethnic cuisines (after much trial and error) or just resort to making it yourself.

    BTW, I’m totally impressed that you’re a pastry chef. I can cook lots of different things, but pastry always reduces me to tears.

  3. It depends on region as well. Here we see a lot of fresh produce in season at the markets. The restaurants use the in season stuff extensively. It seems like almost every dish I order out comes with some form of salad. Though the food is often like the people, it is practical and direct without need for a lot of fancy frilly bits.

  4. No expat, but German and love much more Italian and French food but some things are really good. So the first thing for me are; asparagus in the season, then the different berries in June and Squash in fall, German beer and fruit cakes when they are homemade. Unfortunately nowadays many bakeries don’t make them theirselves, so look out for the real stuff!

Leave a Reply

