Help!

So I’ve been here less than a week, and I’m totally loving it even though I have no kitchen oder küche yet, or internet, or a couch, or a bed or closet…. I don’t have a whole lot yet. But I do know the job search needs to progress. I have an interview in a week and I’m definitely excited because that means I can stay!!! But what if it doesn’t work out?

That is why I am asking all of my expat friends I haven’t met yet a few questions:

1. What is the best place to look for English-speaking jobs besides Toytown Germany?

2. Does anyone know of any job openings?

3. Can anyone please tell me where I can go furniture shopping that isn’t XXXL (that is super expensive)?

4. Not really a question, but if anyone is ever interested, I’m usually in the Starbucks on my computer during the day, so if you are free, stop by!!!

Thanks everyone!

12 thoughts on “Help!

  1. Welcome to Germany! If things on job front don’t work out before your tourist visa is up, you could always enroll in intensive language courses (which would help in the job search down the road anyway). It is possible to get a visa that way, as long as you can demonstrate (on your own or with the help of your boyfriend) that you have the financial means to live without government assistance. And for inexpensive furniture, it’s Ikea all the way here. Good luck!

  2. Tomorrow I’m having lunch with a friend in the city. We have to go shopping afterwards but we would be happy if you would join us for lunch, if you like. She also offered to show you the nightlife around here if you’re interested. 🙂

  3. If you read this before noon, we’re meeting 12:30 in front of “Bratwurst Röslein” which is just northeast of the Hauptmarkt. Here is the Google Maps link: http://bit.ly/puW3HD

    I’m the one without hair and a black t-shirt with a golden/white lion on it. Don’t know what my friend will be wearing. 😉

    1. Hahaha I am just now reading your comments- I’m in that Starbucks near Hauptmarkt. I don’t have internet at home, so I’m slow at responses. I’m trying to figure out how to get to Ikea today! I hope to meet up with you though!!!

  4. I wish I was in Germany so we could hang out 😦
    I’ve only been out of the states once, so I don’t really have too much experience with the expat life.

    1. Hey Sebastian! Sorry I didn’t get to meet you last weekend, I was on my way to Ikea that day, I only stopped by Starbucks to get directions. Hope you are well.

      I have an interview for an international preschool next week which I’m super excited about. Otherwise, I am working my butt off! Thanks for the tips of course!! How are you and what are you up to?

      1. Hey,

        no problem. I hope you found your way to IKEA? We were discussing going to IKEA ourselves that Saturday so that you could’ve joined us but as it turned out we were busy shopping in the city the whole afternoon. 😉

        Currently I’m planning what to do in my holidays. I’ll visit London for a few days and before that I’m trying to visit a few friends I have not met for a long time. 🙂

        I’ll keep my fingers crossed for your interview, keep us updated. 🙂

        By the way, do you have Facebook, Google+ or something?

  5. I have all of that, you can find me on Google + as Allie Dow. You probably cannot add me on Facebook because no one can find me. But I can add you no doubt if you share your name and such. I’m staying here in Nürnberg these holidays, I hear it is beautiful here! I’m very excited about that. I hope to talk to you again soon!

Leave a Reply

