Home

I’m still waiting on that work visa, and attempting not to bake or cook too much; the G-Man blames me for his eventual weight gain because he cannot stop eating whatever I make. So when I do bake or cook, I make everything on the healthier side so that if he overeats, well, it’s not too bad. Nevertheless, when I’m not baking, doing some yoga, walking to the movie rental place, watching reruns or movies…. I’m doing absolutely nothing.

Sometimes I walk around, like yesterday I went for a really long walk around the park, but then got cold and came back. But I had one of those WHOA moments. You know those amazing moments where something clicks in your head, and it is super surprising? Well I was walking and I happened to look at a license plate and then it hit me, WHOA I’M IN GERMANY! I’m in another country and have been for over two months. I remember watching movies where the license plates were all different and cool because it was some action adventure or Letters to Juliet, and I thought wow, Europe is so cool! Now I’m here, surrounded by cool European license plates. When did this happen?

I’m that person that can spend so much of my time focusing on visas, dinner, returning books or movies on time, or the problems of others that I can sometimes be surprised by the person looking back at me in the mirror. I’ve always been this way too, and somehow being here in Germany has been a series of important things I needed to focus on. And when I wasn’t paying attention to everything I needed to get done, I forgot to reflect on the very idea that I’m here, in Germany, in a whole new world. 

As if being in the grocery store or walking down the street of my apartment building in proximity of 4 large schools, 3 of which are high schools or gymnasiums, didn’t leave that impression. In the grocery store it’s totally cool if someone runs into you with their cart or people just stop walking suddenly in the middle of a busy sidewalk, or you constantly have to worry about being hit by a cyclist. This makes me annoyed, but it’s no different from NYC. The only difference here is that it’s a completely different culture and they don’t say excuse me like we do. This doesn’t make them rude, this is their culture. The kids in high school are no different from the kids back home, except to say that they all smoke for some reason, and I’m not talking 16 year-olds, I’m talking 12 and up. I see them and want to smack those cigarettes out of their hands but I don’t. I’ve resorted to evil glaring, which had great effect in Harlem, but not in Germany.

But this place feels and looks different, and when I can, I want to spend more time out there understanding it. It’s not easy being alone all day, without much really to do, but I don’t have my own income to just go on adventures yet. I’m in Europe now, everything is literally a hop, skip and jump away. I want to see other parts of Germany, go to Vienna, eat amazingly in Italy, and spend a weekend in Paris. I mean why not?

I’m a firm believer that you have to be the main character in your life, and you can have supporting/recurring characters that add to the story, but in the end, you have to make your story the most entertaining and happiest it can be. I’m definitely the leading lady in my life, I’ve just been a bit boring and who wants to read or see that story? It’s time to liven things up a bit, which requires me to make some friends and get out more. I’m in Germany…. I’m home.

4 thoughts on “Home

  1. The first couple of months of living in Germany are completely overwhelming. Let yourself be ‘boring’ whilst you get used to life where you don’t speak the language and everything is completely different.
    However, getting out making some friends and doing some exploring is an excellent plan and they really are the key to making a life for yourself here.
    Allow things to take some time, but don’t give up on making Germany your home. You will do it.
    I’ve been here over a year now and whilst there are some things that have become familiar, there is a lot of my life that is still in the ‘making here my home’ phrase and I think that phrase may take another year or more to complete before I feel totally at home here.

  2. 1) Those cupcakes look insanely good.
    2) Sounds like everything’s finally sinking in. Anytime someone moves that far, it takes awhile to adapt. I can’t imagine seeing 12 year olds smoking though – that would irk me to no end.

  3. Good that you are accepting the concept of Germany as home. That will help. Definitely go make some friends as friends make everything better, but don’t push yourself too hard if it takes a while.
    The smoking thing is kind of unusual. It makes it hard for me to guess ages. If nothing else the smoking ages people faster, so even at older ages I mis-guess.

    In a few more weeks the Christmas Market begins. Nuremberg has one of the most famous, so take some time to go enjoy. I remember my first winter here, I went every day.

  4. Hi! So glad I found your blog and look forward to reading more. 🙂 I have to admit I still have those moments when I’m walking down the street and find myself saying “Wow! I live here!” although they do tend to get farther apart the longer I live here, quite sad, actually, as it’s a truly amazing feeling…most of the time. Enjoy the first months here!

Leave a Reply

