5 German Foods I Can’t Live Without

Remember, many months back, my list of 5 German foods I could live without (find here)? Well it’s about time to say the things I really would miss if I ever were to leave Germany. So without further ado:

 

5 German Foods I Can’t Live Without

1. German chocolate

You know when other kids were chowing down on hershey bars like they were the best thing since sliced bread in your IMG_0195American youth? Nope, not me. I LOVE chocolate. But hershey’s (not including Symphony because sometimes, in a bind, that hits the chocolate spot) and Godiva are sugary and not chocolaty enough for me. I was lucky also to have loads of delicious chocolate while studying chocolate artistry at Pastry School…. but fast forward years later to a care package full of German chocolate from my (then) boyfriend, and it was….. unbelievable. Milka, Ritter…. cheap and good.

 

2. Himbeer Joghurt Cake

It’s magical. Weirdly, as a pastry lady, I’ve never had cake just like this– maybe because it’s a typical German construction of a cake, I don’t know. But it’s perfect.

 

3. Rosinenbrötchen OR EVERYTHING from a German bakery

IMG_9835-BearbeitetI love raisin bread. LOVE IT. But this is even better, and fresh from the bakery down the street. Sunday is incomplete without these treats, and BONUS– it’s something I can let baby eat too. But let’s talk about German bakeries. They open super early, the breads are fresh out of the oven and the smell wafts down the street, and everyone in the neighborhood puts their heads out of their windows (except for that old lady a block down who always keeps her head out of the window so that she can spy on her neighbors and watch people walk by… because this is a typical old person thing to do clearly) and goes forth to buy loads of carb-laden delicacies. So although I say rosinenbrötchen up there, what I really mean is- pretzels, krapfen (jam filled donuts that are a million times better than in the US), küchle, laugenstange, pain palasse…. the list goes on.

 

4. SpätzleP1050628

These teeny egg noodles come two ways (as far as I know)– covered in gravy or with cheese- think mac’n cheese. My favorite is with homemade gravy. I’m sure they have this all over Germany, but it’s really a Southern German thing— which is where the G-Man calls home. Can. Not. Get. Enough.

5. Speck

Smoked or pickled pork belly with meat on it, not like bacon and not nearly the same as pancetta. We usually get ours from Süd Tirol area, which is Italy/Austria. I will put this in pasta, pizza, on bread, and it’s really cheap for good quality. This has not been the best for my diet (nor has any of the above), but it is soooooo good.

487453_10101226080671725_439360699_n

Oddly, I have more German foods I can’t live without— more than I can live without but those are the top 5. What about all of you? Any you just couldn’t part with?

 

8 thoughts on “5 German Foods I Can’t Live Without

  1. Spätzle, oh my German love. For me, it’s all about the Käsespatzle, cannot get enough of that stuff. And considering that it’s among the very few pork-free options, it has saved my lunch on many an occasion. 🙂

    And yes to the Himbeer-Joghurt cake too…. especially when it’s rolled up into a delicious Schnecke. Nomnomnom.

  2. Oooo, I just found your blog and need to share the BEST way to make spätzle. I’m from the Odenwald and the tradition is to fry some speck, add breadcrumbs to the speck pan, throw the cooked spätzle in and mix it all up. Eat it with homemade applesauce. Mmmmmm, my fav!

Leave a Reply

